Three area townships will have contested elections March 8

Three area townships will have contested elections when voters go to the polls on Tuesday, March 8.

The filing period for township offices ended Tuesday, Jan. 11. Most townships saw only the incumbents file for office, but in New Market, Cedar Lake and Lanesburgh townships, there are two candidates for supervisor. New Market township also has two candidates for treasurer.

Most area townships have one opening for a three-year term as supervisor and one opening for a two-year term as treasurer. Helena Township in Scott County will not have elections March 8. They hold their elections in even-numbered years during the general elections.

The candidates:


New Market Township

Incumbent supervisor Joel D. Helmberger has filed, and he will be facing opposition from George A. Silverness. Incumbent treasurer Cynthia Helmberger did not file for reelection. Candidates are David M. Frame and John G. Macho.

Cedar Lake Township

Supervisor George Pexa is not running, after nearly 40 years in office. Candidates to succeed him are Robert Puncochar and Lloyd Angel Troendl. Incumbent treasurer Karen Tupy has filed for another term.

Belle Plaine Township

Supervisor Richard Klehr and treasurer Kevin Slack, both incumbents, have filed and are unopposed.

Le Sueur County

Derrynane Township

The only candidate who filed in Derrynane Township was Kevin Halloran for supervisor. Incumbent supervisor Jim Oak did not file, and neither did incumbent treasurer Ralph Weiers.

Lanesburgh Township

Incumbent supervisor Joe Lambrecht has filed, and he will be facing opposition from Mark Verhoeven. Rosemary Rynda has filed for treasurer. She was appointed to that post last year, after former treasurer Lila Korbel was elected township clerk.


Webster Township

Supervisor Lawrence McFadden and Treasurer Robert Michel, both incumbents, are unopposed.

Wheatland Township

Kent Jones has filed for supervisor and Gary Bruggenthies has filed for treasurer. Jones is an incumbent. Current treasurer Lawrence Adamek did not file for reelection. He has served as township treasurer for more than 20 years.

Suel Printing Company

Copyright © Suel Printing Company
All Rights Reserved
200 Main St E
New Prague, MN 56071

Phone: 952-758-4435
Fax: 952-758-4135

Latest articles

Mon, 06/18/2018 - 4:40pm
Mon, 06/18/2018 - 3:28pm
Mon, 06/18/2018 - 10:16am
Sun, 06/17/2018 - 11:44pm

Please Login for Premium Content