Trojan athletes nab post-season honors

Three New Prague High School athletes have been selected for post-season all star games following the winter sports season.

New Prague High School senior Connor O'Brien was named to the Green Squad in the 27th annual Minnesota High School All-Star Basketball Series. Doubleheaders will be played Friday, April 3, at St. Cloud State University and Saturday, April 4, at Macalester College in St. Paul.

O'Brien's Green team will be coached by Ed Cassidy and Larry Miller of St. Bernard's. Among area players in the series are Mike Fitzgerald of St. Thomas Academy (Gold team), Matt Zager of Shakopee (Blue), and Chris Palmer of Bethlehem Academy (Green).

Selections were made from nominations provided by coaches.

Tyler Lapic of New Prague was one of 10 finalists for the Mr. Hockey award. Nick Leddy of Eden Prairie was named Mr. Hockey during the award banquet Sunday.

Lapic recently completed his career at New Prague High School as the school's leading career scorer. In addition, he and teammate Schyler Adams tied for the team lead in scoring with 70 points each, tying the school record set in 2005 by Matt Ambroz.

Both Lapic and Adams have been selected to compete in the Great 8 tournament, which will be held April 3 to 5 at Wakota Arena in South St. Paul.

Suel Printing Company

Copyright © Suel Printing Company
All Rights Reserved
200 Main St E
New Prague, MN 56071

Phone: 952-758-4435
Fax: 952-758-4135

Latest articles

Tue, 06/19/2018 - 11:18am
Mon, 06/18/2018 - 4:40pm
Mon, 06/18/2018 - 3:28pm
Mon, 06/18/2018 - 10:16am

Please Login for Premium Content