Cortez, Woratschka share WEM softball MVP Award

Jay Schneider,

After a third place finish in the Section 1A Softball Tournament the WEM softball team received a number of post-season awards.

They also presented team awards and named their 2022 letter winners.

The Bucs finished with an 11-12 overall record and were the Class A West Sub-Section Champions. As a team they received the Minnesota High School Fastpitch Softball Coaches Association Academic Gold Award. As a team, the Bucs carried an impressive 3.829 grade point average.

Earning Academic All-Gopher Conference Honors for having a 3.50 grade point average or higher included Jenae Androli, Alayna Atherton, Grace Baker, Jenessa Baumgarten, Hannah Burns, Lindy Caldwell, Gloria Cortez, Jordan Green, Daelyn Judd, Kaedyn Judd, Rylee Pelant, Briley Velzke, and Emma Woratschka.

Senior Gloria Cortez and junior Emma Woratschka were named the Most Valuable Players on the Buccaneer team.

Cortez pitched in 16 games, threw 117 innings, struck out 50, walked only two batters, and had a 2.33 earned run average. Her earned run average for her career in 37 games was 1.72, which is a school record.

Woratschka played a very good defense at catcher, committing only three errors in 96 total chances. She batted .370 with 18 singles, four doubles, a triple, 13 RBI, 10 runs scored, and seven walks.

Woratschka and junior Hannah Bruns were named the Best Offensive Players. Bruns led the team with 25 hits, 19 singles, 13 RBI and finished with five doubles and a triple.

Green received the Best Defensive Player Award. Pelant received the Buccaneer Teammate Award. Junior Jenessa Baumgarten received the Most Improved Player Award.

Cortez, Atherton, and Bruns were each named to the All-Section 1ATeam.



Suel Printing Company

Copyright © Suel Printing Company
All Rights Reserved
200 Main St E
New Prague, MN 56071

Phone: 952-758-4435
Fax: 952-758-4135

Latest articles

If you would like to receive a FREE digital edition with a paid print subscription please call 952-758-4435.