Scott, Le Sueur counties named disaster areas

The protracted drought in the area has prompted the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture to name Scott and Le Sueur counties and several neighboring counties as disaster areas.

Scott, Le Sueur, Carver, Sibley, Dakota, Hennepin and Ramsey counties have been designated as primary counties eligible for emergency loans to be used to meet various recovery needs, including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or refinancing of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Counties contiguous to the primary counties are also eligible. They are Anoka, McLeod, Rice, Washington, Blue Earth, Nicollet, Sherburne, Wright, Goodhue, Renville and Waseca.

When a tornado, flood, or drought strikes, or a quarantine is imposed by the secretary of agriculture, or when other natural disasters occur, FSA's emergency loan program can help eligible farmers and ranchers rebuild and recover from sustained losses. These loans help producers who suffer qualifying farm related losses directly caused by the disaster in a county declared or designated as a primary disaster or quarantine area. Also, farmers located in counties that are contiguous to the declared, designated, or quarantined area may qualify for emergency loans.

The emergency loans may...

To see more on this story pick up the November 3, 2022 print edition of the LifeEnterprise or The New Prague Times paper. 


Suel Printing Company

Copyright © Suel Printing Company
All Rights Reserved
200 Main St E
New Prague, MN 56071

Phone: 952-758-4435
Fax: 952-758-4135

Latest articles

Sun, 02/05/2023 - 7:25pm
Tue, 01/31/2023 - 8:50am
Mon, 01/30/2023 - 1:14pm
Mon, 01/30/2023 - 8:49am

If you would like to receive a FREE digital edition with a paid print subscription please call 952-758-4435.