ENM council member to challenge mayor

A current city council member will challenge the incumbent mayor in the Elko New Market city election in November.  

According to the Minnesota Secretary of State’s website, incumbent Mayor Bob Crawford and City Council Member Joe Julius have both filed for the two-year position. 

In addition, Dawn Seepersaud and incumbent Kate Timmerman have filed as candidates for four-year terms on the Elko New Market City Council. There are two four-year terms up for election this year. 

To date, no one has filed for the two-year term for the special election on the November ballot. 

Filings in other races, according to the Minnesota Secretary of State website as of 2:30 p.m. Friday:

In New Prague, the only filings remain Chuck Nickolay for mayor and Maggie Bass for a four-year city council term. There are two four-year city council terms on the November ballot and one special election for a two-year seat on the council. No one has filed for the two-year term. 

No one has filed for the two four-year city council seats in Heidelberg. 

No one has filed for the three four-year school board seats in the New Prague Area School Board. 

In Belle Plaine Township, Tony Kornder has filed for reelection for the Town Supervisor A spot. Previously, Chris Bieder had filed for Town Supervisor C. No one has filed for town clerk. 

In Helena Township, Edward Nytes and John Wermerskirchen have filed for the two Supervisor posts, and Nate Hutton has filed for town treasurer. 

No one has filed for any of the five township posts in Lanesburgh Township. 

The filing period for local offices closes at 5 p.m. Tuesday, Aug. 14. The General Election will be held Tuesday, Nov. 6. 




Suel Printing Company

Copyright © Suel Printing Company
All Rights Reserved
200 Main St E
New Prague, MN 56071

Phone: 952-758-4435
Fax: 952-758-4135

Latest articles

Thu, 07/18/2019 - 11:32pm
Thu, 07/18/2019 - 12:17pm
Thu, 07/18/2019 - 12:00pm

If you would like to receive a FREE digital edition with a paid print subscription please call 952-758-4435.