Tuesday is Election Day

Voters in the Montgomery area, along with the rest of Minnesota and the United States, will head to the polls on Tuesday, Nov. 6 for the mid-term election. Voters will decide who will repent them at various levels of government ranging from local to national offices.


At stake is control of the US Senate and Congress, Minnesota Constitutional offices, including Governor and control of the Minnesota House of Representatives, along with many county, city, school district and township offices. 


Polling places open at 7 a.m. across the state and will remain open until 8 p.m. Anyone in line at 8 p.m. will be allowed to vote. 


Voters must be registered. Advanced registration closed in mid-October, but voters can register at the polls, as long as they bring appropriate documentation or if they have a registered voter who can vouch for them. 


Absentee balloting will continue through Monday, Nov. 5. Voters can request an absentee ballot online through the Minnesota Secretary of State’s website, or they can vote in person at their local county election office. If they are submitting an absentee ballot by mail, the ballot must be received by Election Day in order to be counted. 

For questions on absentee ballots, or if you have any other questions regarding voting, contact your local county elections office. In Le Sueur County, call 507-357-2251. In Rice County, call 507-332-6100.


Local election

Montgomery area voters will decide on the Mayor seat, which is being pursued by lone candidate, Thomas Eisert. 

On the city council, two seats are open with four candidates. They are incumbents Mick McGuire and Brad “Butch” Kubes. Other candidates are Jason Kabes and Robert Taraba.


Le Sueur County

Other races include the seat of Le Sueur County Commissioner District 2 and the race between Maureen Franek and Danny O’Keefe for Joe Connolly, who is stepping down. Another county race is for the auditor/treasurer position held by incumbent Pam Simonette. She will be challenged by Bob Emmers.

The race is also on for Le Sueur County Sheriff. Incumbent Brett Mason is challenged by Keith Rozeboom.


Tri-City United School

An election for the Tri-City United School Board will also be part of the ballot. It finds four candidates for four seats: Dale Buss, Marshal Franek, Joshua Beulke and Michelle Borchardt.


State Legislature

Two area seats are on the ballot in the Minnesota Legislature. In District 20A (southern Scott, western Le Sueur and the City of New Prague) incumbent Bob Vogel (R-Elko New Market) is being challenged by Barbara Droher Kline (DFL-New Prague). In District 20B (northern Rice, northeastern Le Sueur County) candidates are Todd Lippert (DFL-Northfield) and Josh Gare (R-Montgomery). 


Township elections usually draw little attention and few candidates, but all three spots on the Lanesburgh Township Board are on the ballot. Mark Verhoeven and Tony Kubes filed for re-election and are unopposed for their seats, while Robert (Bob) Krocak and Christopher V. Giesen have filed in a special election to fill the remaining two years of an unexpired term. Rosemary Rynda filed for re-election as town treasurer, but no one has filed for a special election to fill the vacancy for town clerk. 


There will also be other positions on the ballot, including the US Senate, judicial seats, state auditor, attorney general and supervisors for the Soil and Water Conservation Districts.


Results for area elections will be posted online at montgomerymnnews.com as they become available Tuesday evening, Nov. 6. 






Suel Printing Company

Copyright © Suel Printing Company
All Rights Reserved
200 Main St E
New Prague, MN 56071

Phone: 952-758-4435
Fax: 952-758-4135

Latest articles

Fri, 01/27/2023 - 1:45pm
Fri, 01/27/2023 - 1:43pm
Fri, 01/27/2023 - 1:22pm
Fri, 01/27/2023 - 11:35am

If you would like to receive a FREE digital edition with a paid print subscription please call 952-758-4435.