Tuesday is Decision Day

Voters in the New Prague area, along with the rest of Minnesota and the United States, head to the polls on Tuesday, Nov. 6. They will decide who will represent them at various levels of government ranging from local to national offices.

At stake is control of the US Senate and Congress, Minnesota Constitutional offices, including Governor and control of the Minnesota House of Representatives, along with many county, city, school district and township offices.

Polling places open at 7 a.m. across the state and will remain open until 8 p.m. Anyone in line at 8 p.m. will be allowed to vote.

Voters must be registered. Advanced registration closed in mid-October, but voters can register at the polls, as long as they bring appropriate documentation or if they have a registered voter who can vouch for them.

Absentee balloting will continue through Monday, Nov. 5. Voters can request an absentee ballot online through the Minnesota Secretary of State’s website, or they can vote in person at their local county election office. If they are submitting an absentee ballot by mail, the ballot must be received by Election Day in order to be counted.

For questions on absentee ballots, or if you have any other questions regarding voting, contact your local county elections office. In Le Sueur County, call 507-357- 2251. In Scott County, call 952-496-8560. In Rice County, call 507-332-6100.

Local elections

New Prague area voters will choose a mayor and three members of the City Council, though there won’t be much to choose from. Incumbent Mayor Chuck Nickolay is unopposed for reelection, while two candidates - Rik Seiler and Maggie Bass - filed for two four-year terms and Bruce Wolf was the only candidate to file for a special election to fill the final two years of an unexpired term.

Elko New Market voters will have two candidates to choose from for Mayor - incumbent Bob Crawford and current city council member Joe Julius. There are also three seats on the ballot for the city council in that community. Two of those are for four-year terms, and incumbents Josh Berg and Katie Timmerman were the only ones to file for those seats. There is also a special election to fill the final two years of an unexpired term. Jon Schwichtenberg and Dawn Seepersaud have filed for that seat.

The City of Heidelberg has two candidates running for reelection to the city council - Rachel Meger and Arthur Kasendorf.

The New Prague Area School Board will have three new members come January, as incumbent board members Jerry Walerius, Don Dvorak and Sherry Brooks chose not...

To see more on this story pick up the November 1, 2018 print edition of The New Prague Times. 



Suel Printing Company

Copyright © Suel Printing Company
All Rights Reserved
200 Main St E
New Prague, MN 56071

Phone: 952-758-4435
Fax: 952-758-4135

Latest articles

Sun, 02/25/2024 - 7:27pm
Sun, 02/25/2024 - 7:51am
Thu, 02/22/2024 - 12:32pm

If you would like to receive a FREE digital edition with a paid print subscription please call 952-758-4435.